This forum is in read-only mode. Please continue to browse, but replies are disabled for now. Why?

E200 extra 5mph?

Newbie here, hi. I need to replace the batteries in an E200 and would like to do an upgrade while I have the scooter apart. Any suggestions to get maybe an extra 5mph? 

Modifying a Razor E200 electric scooter to go 5 miles per hour faster can be accomplished by installing a more powerful motor and a smaller rear wheel sprocket. Let me check and see if we have any smaller rear wheel sprockets that will fit the E200 scooter and I will reply again with an answer.

Thank you.

I finally had some time to look into this and found that our 47 tooth sprocket for #25 chain item # SPR-2547 will fit the Razor E200 electric scooter. The E200's original sprocket is 55 teeth so a 47 tooth sprocket will increase the gear ratio for a faster top speed. The top speed with a 47 tooth sprocket is around 14 miles per hour which two miles per hour faster than the E200's top speed of 12 miles per hour with the original 55 tooth sprocket. Here are the gear ratio calculations for the 55 and 47 tooth sprockets.

If the rider of the scooter is fairly light weight then a 47 tooth sprocket could be installed on an E200 scooter without increasing the size of the motor.

I know this is only a 2 MPH increase in speed though and your goal is to increase the speed by 5 MPH. If a 2750 RPM motor such as our item # MOT-24350X2750 was installed on the scooter along with a 47 tooth wheel sprocket the top speed would be 15.38 MPH which is getting closer to your 17 MPH goal. Here is the top speed calculation for a 2750 RPM motor and 47 tooth sprocket.

To obtain a 5 MPH or more increase in speed it looks like the 24 Volt motor would need to be overvolted to 36 Volts. Overvolting to 36 Volts would cause the original 2500 RPM motor to run at 3750 RPM as shown in the calculation below.