This forum is in read-only mode. Please continue to browse, but replies are disabled for now. Why?

How to add an extra battery to a Razor Ecosmart Metro with a switch.

I have an Ecosmart Metro that I want to add an extra battery to for the purpose of more speed. This will make the scooter 48 volts, however I have kids that ride my scooter from time to time and I am worried it will be too fast for them to safely ride. I want to use a switch so that I can use 36 volts for them and then switch it to 48 volts for me. I have seen this done on youtube but the video maker did not say how he wired it up. I have some wiring knowledge but have never done this particular thing. Can anyone post a wiring diagram for this application? 

With a switch that changes the battery pack from 36 to 48 Volts, the Voltages between the 36 Volt pack and the additional 12 Volt battery will become unbalanced and if charged with a 48 Volt battery charger the batteries will be damaged due to overcharging and undercharging of the different batteries in the pack. A solution to this is to use a 36 Volt charger and a 12 Volt charger to recharge the four batteries. Here is a wiring diagram for this method:

The method above is the hard way to accomplish your goal and there is a much easier method which is to install a throttle top speed limiter with a defeat switch. Here is a photo of a throttle top speed limiter:

This part goes between the throttle and controller and then a switch connects to it to defeat the lower top speed that can be adjusted from 0-100% and anywhere in between by using a small screwdriver.

The top speed limiter shown above does not have the right connectors on it for a Razor Ecosmart scooter's throttle, however, we could make one that does. The defeat switch connects to the top speed adjuster's black and orange wires.