This forum is in read-only mode. Please continue to browse, but replies are disabled for now. Why?

Razor MX500

Hi, I’m a newbie here. I’d like to upgrade my sons Razor MX 500. I was reading about adding another battery and switching the motor to 48V I believe but I’m not sure how I’d fit another battery. I’m not too good with my hands. Just the basics unless there’s a video or something with instructions. Also read something about 36V. What is the difference in speed with upgrading to 36V vs 48 V? Thanks I’m advance.

If you search on YouTube for "Razor MX500 48 Volt Conversion" there are some videos that show how a fourth battery was installed. 

The MX500 is 36 Volts right out of the box so it is already there. Some people overvolt the MX500 to 48 Volts with various levels of success. Overvolting can possibly lead to burning out the original controller and/or motor though so it has to be done at your own risk. We carry both 36 Volt 750 Watt and 800 Watt Motors that fits in the frame which if installed along with a 36 Volt 750 Watt or 1000 Watt controller will provide a 50% or higher increase in power over the original 500 Watt motor.

We also carry both 36 Volt 800 Watt and 48 Volt 1800 Watt Modification Kits for the Razor MX500, SX500, and MX650 dirt bikes.  

Thanks for replying. 

If I were to go with the 48V will the only thing that need to be fabricated is the bracket for 4th battery or will I have to make fabrications for the motor and/or controller? 

How much will the 36V  750watt motor and controller cost and I will need new batteries also, preferably lithium. Or whichever battery lasts the longest (as in run time)  

Thanks

Sorry forgot to add, if I wanted to go with the 36V 750 watt the only thing I'd need are 

motor

controller 

new batteries 

or I'd need something else also ?