This forum is in read-only mode. Please continue to browse, but replies are disabled for now. Why?

ATV-8E 1000w/36 volts Modifications.

Hello there, I am new to electrics and never did have my own power wheels growing up. I recently bought a 1000w/36volts Mini ATV. Both my son and I were looking to purchase some new batteries and make up a 48 or 60 volt pack, but we are new and unsure as to the procedures and products. I'm going to include specs below and I was hoping to get info on what needs to be replaced, I'm assuming the batteries, charger and controller at a minimum. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks Dan Specs 3x 12v 14a lead acid 1000w. 3.5 N.m Charger: 100-240v/50-60 hz/1.5A Non-load input current
Since you are planning to modify the ATV to have more batteries than it originally did the first step I would take is measuring the space available in the ATV for the battery pack to fit into. Then I would play around with different size battery dimensions and layouts to create a battery pack that will fit inside of the space. If the 36 Volt 1000 Watt motor is going to be over-Volted and is a brushed motor (has two wires) then I would use a large controller with big heat sink such as our item # SPD-601000A. The output Voltage and Amperage of the new charger will need to be determined after the battery pack has been chosen or created. I can help with that decision once the Voltage and Ah rating of the new battery pack is known.
Thanks for the response. I checked the product website and it has a brushless motor. So if I have this right, I'll measure and make up a new 48-60v Battery pack with a higher mah and grab a new charger. And I need to change all batteries right not just add a couple Of the same in sequence? It's a new atv with maybe 5 charges through it But I don't want to damage anything. Also what's a good upgrade for a 12v 14a battery? Thanks again in advance