This forum is in read-only mode. Please continue to browse, but replies are disabled for now. Why?

Razor ecosmart Metro upgrade

I want to upgrade the old ecoMetro. (Unite 500W 36V)

Looking around here I see a Currie MOT-SD 36750 motor at 750W. I'm thinking this one because it's short. On this scooter the motor sticks out sideways so with a case size that's about same as mine hopefully it won't stick out worse. Also, the Currie appears to have the same 3 7/8" OC three point mounting.  (maybe I could mount a different motor but it would probably stick out farther)

I'd like to know what all parts are needed. I assume along with a motor there's a controller and throttle, and maybe other things.

I'm a reasonable mechanic and I like keeping things simple. Is this as simple and easy as I think?

thanks,eric

Please note that only the original Ecosmart motor and controller are bolt-and-go and plug-and-play on the Ecosmart scooter and any other motor and/or controller would require custom installation and wiring to install. 

Currie electric scooter motors have a larger front endcap than the original EcoSmart motor does, so installing them requires modification or replacement of the EcoSmart's motor mounting plate.  Most people wind up cutting the original motor mounting plate completely off and installing a new motor mounting plate in a different position to be able to install a Currie motor. The alignment between the wheel and motor sprockets is critical to making the chain work, so the motor has to be mounted in the perfect position to get this right. 

You could start off by installing a 750 Watt motor and then see how it works with the original speed controller. Most Razor speed controllers are rated for slightly larger motors than they are paired with, so you might notice more power by simply installing a new 750 Watt motor. The Razor EcoSmart controller is also used on the Razor MX650 Dirt Bike which has a 650 Watt motor.