This forum is in read-only mode. Please continue to browse, but replies are disabled for now. Why?

Electric Industrial Dolly Project

Hello,

I am an engineering student and my capstone project is to design and build and electric cart to transport two welding cylinders. We have the cart designed and now we are trying to determine a motor size. Calling manufacturers hasn't gotten me anywhere.

Specs:

~ 600 pounds

walking speed (~3 mph)

15 degree max incline

Can anyone provide guidance ?

We can help and have practically all of the parts that will be needed. Figuring out the gear ratio for a 3 mph top speed is the first step. We can figure out the correct gear ratio and sprocket sizes using our gear ratio calculator. Do you know what size tires (outside diameter) the dolly has or will have?

Yes. The front two wheels on the drive axle are 13 inch diameter

13" Drive wheels

3 MPH max speed

15 degree max incline

600 pounds max total weight

Any help with spec'ing out parts will be greatly appreciated!!

We need a better option for batteries, a throttle, controller, motor and brakes

6.JPG
(82.5 KB)
4.JPG
(47.2 KB)
1.JPG
(57.1 KB)
2.JPG
(71 KB)
I ran a gear ratio calculation using our 24 Volt 350 Watt gear motor which has a 420 rpm under load shaft output speed and found that with a 50 tooth sprocket on the axle or wheel the top speed would be 2.93 mph. Here is the calculation.

A 24 Volt 350 Watt motor pulling 600 pounds up a 15 degree incline at 3 mph is very close to the motor's power limit. I think it would work however it does not leave much room for occasionally pulling up steeper inclines. If you want to overbuild the machine, a 36 Volt 600 Watt motor would be a better choice, however the cost of electrical parts would be more if using a 36 Volt 600 Watt gear motor and electronics compared to using a 24 Volt 350 Watt system.

Here is an example of a 24 Volt 350 Watt gear motor kit that sells for $300.00: