This forum is in read-only mode. Please continue to browse, but replies are disabled for now. Why?

Faulty second hand road legal electric scooter, engine continuously runs, 36v

Hi there, I am new to electric scooters/moped and recently bought a second hand one that was sold as seen for spares or repair. It was working order but batteries were only strong enough to turn the wheel when in the air, not with someone sitting on it. At this stage the throttle worked fine. All lights, brake light, indicators and dash worked.

I got it home, bought new batteries and fixed them properly. From hereon the problems started. The back wheel turned around backwards continuously so i reversed the polarity putting -36v into the system, the wheel turns the correct way but again continuously. Because of this, turning the throttle makes no difference. But wiring was getting hot! With or without the throttle connected the wheel turns continuously. The wheel turns correctly when i put in +36v and change over the wires at the speed controller for polarity so not necessarily a problem there.

So, I took bike to bits and it had obviously had a bodge job at re wiring in an earlier life. I replaced the speed controller for a brand new one and fixed it. Again the wheel turns after one click on the ignition, the second click nothing happens, the power goes dead.  The brand new speed controller, with just wires for power and motor and ignition will set the wheel turning on its first click with keys, dead on second click. When fully linked up, the electrics all seem to work but hitty missy, the dash can be on one minute, off the next. I have been testing by using just a one 12v battery rather than full power as it does the same job (not needing it to ride at this stage until fully functioning with throttle).