This forum is in read-only mode. Please continue to browse, but replies are disabled for now. Why?

miniMoto gokart power shut off issues

Hello.  My daughter's older Honda style  Minimoto gokart is having power problems.  When we hit the on switch there is an audible click, and the motor is ready to go.  However, everything stops after about five seconds. This was also happening before when she would switch into reverse, and then it would not want to operate in forward.   When we turn it off for about 30 seconds it repeats the same pattern (power returns and then ceases shortly thereafter).

Unfortunately,  I am new to the world of electronics..  I'm not sure if it's the throttle switch, a connection, or the controller?

any help would be appreciated.

I am in Eugene Oregon if you know of anyone that repairs  electrical scooters etc.  in my area.

Thank you!

Although that type of problem could be caused by various different issues the most common reason that an electric go kart would run for only a few seconds and then stop would be due to old or worn out batteries.

If the history of the battery pack is unknown, or if it is known that the battery pack is over two years old or that it was stored without being recharged every 30 days then it is probably safe to presume that the battery pack is old, improperly maintained, or worn out.