This forum is in read-only mode. Please continue to browse, but replies are disabled for now. Why?

crazy cart - i dont think i am getting power to the motor

Hi, i have a version 1 crazy cart and i cannot get it to run.  If I directly connect the motor to the battery the motor works.  I have read that broken motor wires is a typical problem, and I have replaced those (except for about 4 inches coming directly out of the motor.  When I connect the motor wire to its adapter (the one with the blue and yellow wires coming from the controller), it doesn't run.  I also do not think i am getting the expected voltage once they are connected and testing with the multimeter on the red and black wires.  If i connect the multimeter to the controller side of that connection (the blue and yellow wires), i get voltage.  I am new to using multimeters but I saw what i expect from reading up on this.  The battery packs are new and I am getting 24v with load / throttle pressed.  4.33v from the throttle (when testing against the black and red wires), .85 when connected to the black and white wire on the throttle side of the connector.  After engaging the throttle the voltage goes up.  I am not sure about the safety switch because i am having a hard time interpreting the multimeter.  When set on continuity setting, I am getting inconsistent results.  If I just disconnect the safety switch connector, does that just leave it in the open position and therefore rule that part out?  Also, I don't hear a consistent click from the controller although i did something (cant remember what) where i was able to get it to click.  I seemed to have to close and open the safety switch for this to happen.  Cant remember for sure.  Thanks for any help or suggestions

1 person has this question
Since the motor is not running when the throttle is pressed there is hardly any load on the battery pack so the load test results are not going to be accurate.