This forum is in read-only mode. Please continue to browse, but replies are disabled for now. Why?

Electrifying an Adult Trike

Hello Electric Scooter Parts. I have a trike that needs "electrification"!  It is a Columbia Easy Rider with 24 inch wheels, 3speed gearchanger  and a nice basket in the rear to hold the batteries. I have attached photos. Could your tech support provide me with any suggestions regarding which parts or kit I should order? I am a pretty good mechanic-technician and licenced Electrician. I have 2 large 12 Volt batteries so I was thinking of the KIT-125. Some of the questions I have are: Where to mount  the motor? Will I need a freewheeling sprocket? What type of installations have you seen on this type of vehicle? Any recommendations or experiences you can relate would be helpful, Thanks, Jim jimdegner@gmail.com 626-926-0516

P7310007.JPG
(693 KB)
P7310006.JPG
(730 KB)
P7310005.JPG
(651 KB)
P7310003.JPG
(679 KB)
P7310002.JPG
(686 KB)

The Axles are 3/4 inch. Top speed desired is 15 mph. - Jim

Hi Jim, I ran some gear ratio calculations for your electric tricycle project and found that a gear motor is needed otherwise without a gear motor then a gigantic 130 tooth rear axle sprocket would be required.

We have 24 Volt gear motors available in 250, 350, and 450 Watt models. Since the tricycle with a battery pack and motor will be fairly heavy I recommend using the 450 Watt motor. Here is the gear ratio calculation.

We have 9,11, 12, and 13 tooth sprockets available for the motor so the top speed could be reduced or increased by switching over to a different size motor sprocket than is used in the calculation above. The 12 tooth motor sprocket is a freewheel type however there is nothing wrong with having a freewheel on the motor and also on the axle.

We also have larger than 24 tooth axle sprockets available however when I tried them in the gear ratio calculation the top speed began to get very slow.