This forum is in read-only mode. Please continue to browse, but replies are disabled for now. Why?

Upgrading a Razor Ecosmart Metro to commute to work

Hello all,

I am completely new to electric scooters. Today I bought a used EcoSmart Metro scooter used that appears to run just fine other than the batteries need replacing -- they only last a few minutes before not having enough power to move the bike. The price was good enough that this is no problem, I planned on modding it anyway.

So the project I had in mind for this scooter is this: I want to try using it to commute to work. Legally in my state I can do 25mph in a bicycle lane, so that's what I want to do. My work is 6.2 miles away and I probably won't have access to a charger while at work, so I'd like it to have a range of 15 miles to be safe. I weigh 235 pounds and am 5'11.5", so I'm bigger than the usual scooter rider; that has to be taken into account.

To recap, here are the numbers:

Rider height: 5'11.5"

Rider weight: 235 pounds (maximum weight for the scooter is rated at 220)

Desired speed: 25mph (default rated for 18mph)

Desired range: 15 miles, or 7 miles with an easy portable charging solution (default rate is 7-10 miles)

If anyone here could point me to upgrades that I could buy to make the EcoSmart do what I want it to do, I'd greatly appreciate it. Again, I'm new to this, so a direct link to the product to purchase would be best. 

Also, feel free to recommend mods to make the ride more comfortable and fun! I may be using this as a commuter, but I'm all for pimping my scooter. :) Thanks!

1 person likes this idea
The scooter could be over-Volted to 48 Volts by installing a battery pack made from four 12 Volt 8Ah or 9Ah batteries and upgrading the battery charger form 36 Volts to 48 Volts. This modification increases the top speed speed to around 23 MPH and the range of the scooter remains around the same. Here is a video on this modification.