This forum is in read-only mode. Please continue to browse, but replies are disabled for now. Why?

Electric Scooter Parts Guidelines

Hi! I am building an electric scooter from scratch. I am not very experienced, so I would like some help. I was hoping that this would be able to go 20-25 mph on off-road and on-road. I am kinda basing this off of a razor mx500 dirt bike, except this will hopefully be a scooter. What exactly would i need? 

- 36v 500w motor?

- drumbrakes?

- 3 12v 12ah batteries?

- throttle?

- power switch?

-front fork?

-key switch ?

-rear suspension shock?

-mx500 front and rear wheels?

-kickstand?

-#25 chain?

what about charging?

If anyone could help me, that would be great. I have attached what I am envisioning the scooter to look like. If ANYONE could help me, I would be so grateful! 

In order for the scooter to go 20-25 MPH it will need a 1000 Watt motor. A 500 Watt motor could only propel it to around 10-15 MPH. As far as a list of parts needed to fabricate the scooter goes it will be easiest to break the parts down into two categories; electrical parts and running gear parts.

Electrical parts:
  • Motor
  • Controller
  • Throttle
  • Power Switch
  • Battery Pack
  • Battery Charger

Running gear parts:

• Handlebars
  • Forks
  • Frame
  • Suspension
  • Wheels
  • Brakes
  • Chain

I can primarily help you with the electrical parts of the build. I can make a kit with the electrical parts that are needed. 1000 Watt motors are available in 36 Volt, 48 Volt, and 60 Volt versions. The Voltage does not affect the power of the motor, only the Wattage does. A 36 Volt system uses three batteries, a 48 Volt uses four batteries, and a 60 Volt uses five batteries. Do you know how many Volts you would like the system to be?

A 36 volt would be fine! Thank you so much for your help! A kit would be great!