This forum is in read-only mode. Please continue to browse, but replies are disabled for now. Why?

Yard cart / garden cart

Hi, I need some help regarding powering a yard cart. Sorry I am new to this so please forgive any questions that may sound obvious. Appreciate any input.

1) I need to move at-least 2 loads of dirt from front of my yard to back. yard actually slopes down but has a good 250 ft walk as well. then cart will be empty coming back up the incline.

2) Then it will be used to move some material (wood etc).

3) Once these projects done - will be used for general yard / garden work

Based on all these appears that - it will need to carry about 300-400lb, will need high torque, should be able to convert from dump cart to flat bed cart, should be able to go at-least 1-2 hrs between charging. 

Looking at these, Gorilla cart type of wagon may be a good option, however do not know if anybody had experience with this? are there better option (which might be easier to covert)

- I looked at some other threads, but wasn't quite sure... a) where does the motor and battery go in this kind to set up? Do you have to make a separate mounting assembly for the battery and motor?

-I have 2, 12V, 35 amp batteries, can I use these for this project (but need to be removed easily)

-would a thumb-lever throttle be easier to install instead to twist throttle (as this may need cutting the handle)

-I dont think gorilla cart has a live axle, how will the sprocket connect to the motor, if its going to be near the wheel.

Thanks 

1 person likes this idea

I do not have any experience with Gorilla type yard carts so I am not able to answer any questions regarding them however I have a lot of experience and can help you with the electrical part of the project.