This forum is in read-only mode. Please continue to browse, but replies are disabled for now. Why?

Building off a wagon

Ok I have a few questions. First off I am building this out of a wagon I've been using a year that fits my stuff perfect. I'm just tired of lugging it around by hand, so it's time to go motorized. I've been a welder and fabricator for years, so I will be going at this doing what I need to make it work. I'm having trouble finding pics of what parts I will need to make the one wheel a drive wheel. How will they need to attach to a wheel. I prefer not to have to buy a set of wheelez wheels and just fabricate from what I have. I have a all metal wagon from tractor supply. Full and headed to the ball field it had a 50 at cooler filled with ice and drinks, Honda 2000 generator, radio I built out of a big cooler, two canopies, 24" fan, extension cords, and five folding chairs. I have to go up and down some good hills once in a while and it's off and on use from 7am until midnight sometimes. It's the ground works heavy duty 1400 lbs farm wagon. According to their sight it says 16" tires. I'm inside and can verify if need be. So what kit am I looking at and what do I need to attach to the wheel and has it been done before. Thanks in advance.
image.png
(933 KB)

Johnathon,

I'm just about finished with my motorizing project - a yard cart with 16" wheels.  The most difficult bit of engineering was coupling the motor to a hollow hub wheel.  I've not seen any detailed descriptions on how to mate the Wheelez wheels to the motor either.  Since you can have access to a welder, then I'd suggest that you simply weld a sprocket to the inside hub of one of the wheels.  If you wanted to get really clever, you could drive BOTH rear wheels of your wagon through a jack-shaft with dual sprockets.

Sometimes the Electric Scooter Team is a bit slow in responding.  Happy to discuss this outside the forum if you like.  Email me at ltcdfancher at woh dot rr dot com.