This forum is in read-only mode. Please continue to browse, but replies are disabled for now. Why?

Trailer to tricycle/high speed trailer jockey/trailer dolly

It's kind of difficult to explain.  Basically I want to turn a 15ft camper trailer into a front wheel powered trike.  It can be have up to 750 watt motor and top speed of 5 mph across flat sometimes soft dirt.

This is the last setup we used.  Side by side bicycle geared as low as possible all human powered and was increasingly difficult and had limited range.

What I have in mind is something more like these.

Except with a fatter wheel.

I'm no engineer so I'm not really sure if this is even possible, but I figure if two humans on bikes can tow it, then one with an electric motor should be able to with the appropriate gear ratio. 

I been trying to figure out the best motors and sprockets, with the help of your calculator, to get the most torque, but I'm really new to all this.

Any thoughts or ideas are greatly appreciated.

Also I have a 3000 watt generator on-board already so I could use a AC motor and cut out the need for a DC power supply.  I just have no idea where or what to look for when it comes to a motor.

Here are my initial thoughts after looking around for a while.  

Option #1